Classification of Jute Fiber

Classification of Jute:
Classification of jute according to the quality (Geographical distribution according to Bangladesh):
  1. Jat
  2. District
  3. Northern
  • Jat is the finest quality jute with firm
  • It has good color and length
  • It has good luster
This type of jute fiber grows in the district of Mymensingh, Dhaka and Comilla. 
Jute plant
District jute is close to jat in quality.
  • The fiber is not uniform in textures and strands
  • Its color varies from light ream to dull grey
  • Its length is shorter.
There are two types of District jute. They are-
  1. Hard district
  2. Soft district
Hard district:
The hard district jute is better than the soft district.It mainly grows in the district of Faridpur

Soft district:
This type of jute grows in district of Noakhali,Pabna,Barisal,Jessor,Khulna,Sylhet,Lower Comilla,Chittagong and some part of Dhaka.

  • Northern jute is of somewhat inferior quality.
  • The fiber is dull-colored fluffy hairy and barky
  • Generally medium length and weak.
This type of jute grows in District of Rangpur, Dinajpur, Bogra and Rajshahi. 


Comment here

Textile Learner is the largest Textile Blog over the net. It is an ultimate reference for textile students. It describes textile articles in comprehensive. It also supplies news on latest textile technology, educational institute news of the world.